Call 512 891 8000
fax: 512.891.8001
mark@austinticketlawyer.com

DRIVING WHILE LICENSE INVALID

Under Texas law, a person commits a criminal offense if the person operates a motor vehicle while their driver's license is suspended, revoked, cancelled or denied.

A first time offense of Driving While License Invalid is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $500.00. A conviction for DWLI triggers consequences.

Mandatory additional suspension for the same term length as the original suspension.
For example, if the original suspension was 8 months, DPS will

  • suspend the driver's license for an additional 8 months.
  • DPS Driver Responsibility Surcharge of $250 for 3 years.
  • DPS reinstatement fee of $100.
  • Maintain a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22)
    and keep on file with DPS for 2 years.

MANY DRIVERS ARE UNAWARE THAT THEIR DRIVERS LICENSES ARE SUSPENDED.

Here are some common reasons a person can have their license suspended, revoked, cancelled or denied.

  • Second conviction for No Insurance
  • Unpaid DPS surcharges
  • Unpaid traffic tickets
  • Habitual violator (four moving violations in one year or seven in two years)
  • Drug offense conviction
  • Conviction of a minor for an alcohol related offense

In most cases, the Grace Law Office can identify and successfully restore your driving privileges. We have helped hundreds of clients avoid license suspensions by understanding and navigating the complexity of the Texas Transportation Code.