Call 512 891 8000
fax: 512.891.8001
mark@austinticketlawyer.com

DPS SURCHARGES

In 2003, the Texas Legislature enacted the Driver Responsibility Program (Chapter 708 of the Texas Transportation Code). This law assesses a surcharge to drivers convicted of certain traffic and criminal violations.

Under this program, the Texas Department of Public Safety now assigns points to drivers convicted of committing moving traffic violations. Any driver who has accumulated six or more points on their driving record over the previous three years will now be assessed an annual monetary surcharge. Surcharges are also assessed against individuals convicted of DWI, No Driver’s License, No Insurance and Driving While License Invalid.

Points are assigned as follow:

  • Two (2) points for most moving traffic violations (i.e. speeding, running a red light)
  • Three (3) points for a moving violation resulting in an accident.
DPS surcharges austin ticket lawyer | Grace Law

Surcharge Schedule

Driver Responsibility Program surcharges are assessed for three years. As an example, a driver convicted of No Insurance will pay $250 every year for three years for a total of $750.00.

  • Six points $100.00 annually
  • Each additional point $25.00
  • No Driver's License $100.00
  • No Insurance $250.00
  • Driving While DL Invalid $250.00

FAILURE TO PAY DPS SURCHARGES WILL RESULT IN THE SUSPENSION OF YOUR TEXAS DRIVER'S LICENSE

The Grace Law Office has saved clients thousands and thousands of dollars in DPS surcharge payments by ensuring that their traffic tickets and criminal violations were not reported to DPS as convictions.